A fine line between style and travel.

We take a brief moment…

… to encourage those of you in America to buy a ticket to Kim Boekbinders Impossible tour!

I have seem Kim twice live now, and she  hasn’t failed to impress. I know I haven’t blogged about it yet (slap on the wrist I know) but I saw her whilst in New York a few weeks ago. Her music is fresh, titillating and introspective. It inspires me artistically!

Kim is so impossibly independent she pre-sells her tours and projects before booking venues. This is how I saw her in New york, and how I am getting my hands on a unique vinyl of Kim and Amanda Palmer. She is so impossibly down to earth she interacts with her crowd and answers her emails herself!

Try to spot me in the New york audience! (Ok, I’m having issues imbedding this video, so do it old school and click the link.)

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/KimBoekbinder/the-impossible-tour-san-francisco/widget/video.html

Did you see me? Try watching it again. By helping fund the project and turning up to the concert, I got a free poster, with artwork by Molly Crabapple an Amazing artist. I also bought the T-shirt, because its the cool thing to do.

She sparkles, she’s pink, she plays the ukulele and does awesome things onstage to build the many layers of her music.

Raw uneditted footage not actually ready to be seen by my readers.

And my favourite song:

All videos taken from Kim Boekbinders Youtube.

Paraphrased from Kims Kickstarter: Each city has a date, the venue will be determined by the size of the audience. 10 people means a magical house show, 100 people means an intimate venue, 1000 people means an amazing concert at a rock club with fantastic sound and lights.

The shows will only happen if you make them happen.

OCTOBER 13th – San Diego, CA

OCTOBER 14th – Los Angeles, CA

OCTOBER 15th – San Francisco, CA

OCTOBER 21st – Seattle, WA

OCTOBER 22nd – Portland, OR

OCTOBER 23rd – Minneapolis, MN

OCTOBER 27th – New Orleans, LA

NOVEMBER 4th – Boston, MA

NOVEMBER 5th – Hartford, CT

NOVEMBER 12th – New York, NY

I know some of you are around those locations, It will be money well spent: I Promise you!

This isn’t my Last Kim the Impossible Girl post, expect more.

So to finish this shameless (actually, rather proud) promotion, here is her official press release:

Kim Boekbinder Redefines The Rock Tour

Iconoclastic New York musician, Kim Boekbinder, has set the internet abuzz with her passionate rant about the state of the music industry and how she’s decided to circumvent the broken system by using her vibrant social media presence to pre-sell her shows BEFORE they are even booked. Kim’s first test run of the idea was launched on Kickstarter and she got her funding for a show in New York City in under 24 hours. Now she’s doing a 10 date US tour: http://kck.st/pIcXeH

Ms. Boekbinder’s “Impossible Tour” idea has been featured on CCN Money, BBC Radio’s World Service, and BoingBoing.http://www.boingboing.net/2011/06/14/crowdfunding-the-tou.html#comments.  The attention generated from the story has her email inbox flooded with thank you messages from fans, musicians, and venues; as well as offers from internet startups trying to address the very issues that she is dealing with.

Kim Boekbinder is The Impossible Girl; a performer, composer, musician, and visual artist who defies genre. She has travelled the world, stealing hearts and changing paradigms with her indelible live performance and her excitingly original and unforgettable music. http://www.kimboekbinder.com/about/ 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Kim Boekbinder answers my questions. « Postcards of Me

  2. Amanda

    I like this song! She sounds like a really neat artist. It’s a shame she’s not going to be near me.

    September 15, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

