A fine line between style and travel.

Miss Africa, Perth 2011

So instead of a post about me and my travels today, here is a post about my work at home.

The month of may was a busy month for me, organising this trip, working at the shop and fashion styling for my own business. Three Saturdays in a row were dedicated to Miss Africa contestants, working with the talented team of Joachim Guay and Celine Prinoux, photographers and a number of other creative minds.

Five contestants asked for my stylistic help, with the results below.

Nunu, South Sudan.

Umu from Freetown, Sierre Leone

Valerie, from Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo. A joint styling effort with Astrid and Celine.

Mary, from Umtata Mouth, Eastern Cape, South Africa

Sharon from Johannesburg, Gauteng

I stuck around for the days shoot, helping carry equipment, making minor adjustments on location, stopping people from walking into our shots etc. I really enjoy the atmosphere and energy of photo shoots, and love seeing the results after a long days work.

The closest I get to Modelling- Prop holding.

Ankle deep in water.

London Court, end of a long day. All photos by Joachim and Celine.

I also got to know every girl in the contest, and they truly were a beautiful group of ladies. All very smart and with such inspirational stories to tell. I know they have forged friendships with each other.

The final show was held on the 18th, and I was sad to be missing it. At the equivalent time, here in Sicily, I sat refreshing my Facebook page eager for results. Finally, Nunu updated her page- Mary won. Whilst every girl was worthy- I cannot be more pleased with the result. Another of ‘my’ girls, Sharon was runner up. Stoked.

Congratulations to all of the girls, I hope I can work with you in the future.
Ciao!

3 responses

  1. Amanda

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing this.🙂

    June 21, 2011 at 12:59 am

  2. huguette

    you were a joy to be around and to work with. Cant wait for you to get back so that you can help the Fiance and I do a few shoots with Celine. have fun in europe (i’m sure you are loadin up on more watches!) xoxo Huguette – Miss Africa Perth Event Organiser

    June 27, 2011 at 4:11 am

  3. shapi

    great work

    July 14, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Leave a Reply

